‘King of Guitar’ Lives On


Sam Patterson, Reporter

After his death in September of 1970, thousands of fans mourned the loss of one of the greatest guitarists of all time. Forty years later, many these same fans were able to rejoice with the announcement of a new Jimi Hendrix album trilogy in production. Now, in 2018, the trilogy has been completed. Record producer Eddie Kramer has teamed up with Record Plant Studio for a new Jimi Hendrix album as the third and final installment in his “post-death” trilogy. The album, Both Sides of the Sky, includes several unreleased tracks from the artist, and is sure to leave people of all ages smiling!

The album includes some of Hendrix’s covers of songs by other artists. Some of these include “Mannish Boy” written by Muddy Waters, and “Things I Used to Do” from Guitar Slim. Some of his most popular live performances were covers of songs like “All Along the Watchtower” and “Johnny B. Goode.”

There are only three of covers on the album. The other ten are Jimi Hendrix originals. As mentioned, “Both Sides of the Sky” is the final installment in the trilogy that began in 2010. Similar to the first two albums, the new tracks work to display the guitarist’s ability to modify the blues style of music. This style is evident in the songs “Hear My Train A Comin’” and “Stepping Stone.” So while this great guitarist may be gone, there is still more music to be shared with generations both new and old.

Here is a list of the songs that are on this album:
1) Mannish Boy
2) Lover Man
3) Hear My Train A Comin’
4) Stepping Stone
5) $20 Fine
6) Power Of Soul
7) Jungle
8) Things I Used to Do
9) Georgia Blues
10) Sweet Angel
11) Woodstock
12) Send My Love To Linda
13) Cherokee Mist